Welcome to Garrison House
The heart of the Cumbrae Community
The town of Millport owes its origins in the 1700s to the people who attempted to smuggle contraband into the Clyde and to those who tried to stop them.
Built in 1745 as the residence of the Captain and officers of the Revenue Sailing Ship the ‘Royal George’ and rebuilt following a major fire in 2001, Garrison House is a stunning example of early 19th century gothic battlement architecture and to this day remains a integral hub of the local community.
The building itself has been remodelled over two floors. The historic exterior of the house has been refurbished and the stonework completely restored. The interior has been opened up to create a modern facility, making full use of light and space.